Monthly Archive: May 2015

How to Erase Your Private Information from Your iPhone before You Sell It

Released last September 2014, the iPhone 6 is still one of the most sought after smartphones in the market as tech giant Apple continues to dominate the industry. Irrespective of the numerous criticisms, iPhones and other Apple devices still sell like hot pancakes while current Apple users look to upgrade to a newer one.

If you are planning to pass down or sell your old iPhone, you need to make sure that your data is safe. Therefore, you need to know how to erase your private information from your iPhone before you sell it. Here’s how:

  1. Backup your iPhone

Most Apple users use iCloud while there are other users who prefer to backup using iTunes. Having a readily accessible backup on your local system can go a long way just in case something goes wrong with your iCloud backup. In order to this, follow the steps below:

  • Open iTunes on your Windows or Mac computer
  • Connect your iPhone
  • In iTunes, you need to click on your device’s name located on the top left. (If the Summary tab is already there by default, there’s no need for you to do this)
  • Under the Backups section of the Summary tab, click on “Back up Now.”
  • Ensure that you disable the “Encrypt iPhone backup” as doing so can erase saved passcodes from the backup. This way, when you restore the iTunes backup to your new iPhone, there is no need for you to enter the passcode to get started. This can help a lot, especially if you have forgotten the old passcode when setting up your new iPhone.

On the other hand, you can also make use of iCloud to back up your data as it is much easier to set up on your new iPhone. When restoring data from iTunes, you need to be connected to your computer. With iCloud, there’s no need to be with your computer since you data is saved in Apple’s cloud storage. As long as you internet connectivity, you can save and restore your backed up data.

Backing up using iCloud is easy. You need to follow the steps below:

  • Open the Settings app on your iPhone
  • Select iCloud
  • Scroll down and select Storage & Backup
  • Ensure that the iCloud Backup switch is set to green or enabled
  • Next, select Back Up Now

Depending on the speed of your internet connection and the data you are backing up, the process may take between a few minutes or an hour. Nonetheless, the backup process won’t affect the way you use your device as you can carry on with your work while the data is being backed up.

  1. Remove photos from Camera Roll

Connect the device to your PC or Mac computer and open Image Capture or iPhoto. Select all photos in the device then click Import all. If you are using Image Capture, you need to select “Delete items from camera after downloading.” On the other hand, you need to select “delete photos” after importing when using iPhoto.

  1. Turn iMessage off

Go to Settings app. Select Messages. Next, select I Message and switch it off.

  1. Turn FaceTime off

Go to Settings app. Select FaceTime. Then, switch it off.

  1. Disable iCloud account

Go to Settings app. Select iCloud. To delete the account from your Apple device, select “Delete Account.”

  1. Log out your Apple ID

Go to Settings app. Select iTunes & App Stores. To sign out your account, tap Apple ID and select sign out.

  1. Restore to factory settings

Go to Settings app. Select General. Tap Reset and then Erase All Content and Settings to restore the device to factory settings.

  1. Unregister your device

Before you pass down or sell your iPhone, you need to unregister the device at supportprofile.apple.com.

  1. Contact your mobile carrier

 

One of the final things that you need to do is to call your network carrier and ask them to disassociate the device from your account.

These are just some of the basic tips on how to erase your private information from your iPhone before you sell it. This is important to make sure that you are free from identity theft.